CogLingDays 5: deadline for abstract submission extended to June 10th

After four fruitful meetings in Utrecht (2004), Leuven (2006), Leiden (2008), and Antwerp (2010), Groningen will host the fifth biennial conference of the Belgium Netherlands Cognitive Linguistics Association (BeNeCLA, The event is being organized by the University of Groningen in cooperation with the BeNeCLA board.

The two-day conference offers a venue for researchers from the Low Countries to present and discuss their research results in the various strands of cognitive linguistics or other cognitively inspired usage based approaches. These may encompass a variety of perspectives, but they share the view that grammar is not only a socially grounded system for producing and understanding language, but is also shaped by those processes during linguistic interactions.

All interested scholars working in the field of cognitive linguistics or related areas are invited to submit an abstract for the conference.

Invited speakers

Mirjam Fried, Dagmar Divjak, and Alan Cienki


The Faculty of Language: a debate

with Arie Verhagen, Jan Wouter Zwart, and Muriel Norde

We invite abstracts for poster presentations (with a one-minute presentation) and regular conference papers (20 min. talk plus 10 min. discussion), which will be reviewed anonymously.

The abstract text in PDF format should be limited to 400 words, including references and data, and mention main research question(s), methodology, dataset and (expected) results. Please do not reveal the identity of the author(s) in the text itself. Please indicate preference for poster or regular presentation and provide three key words to help the organizers put the presentations in coherent sessions.

Please submit electronically at In the submission process, author(s) name(s) and affiliation are asked for.

Deadline for submission: extended to june 10th 2012

Organizing committee at the University of Groningen

Marjolijn Verspoor (Chair), Mike Huiskes, Muriel Norde, Rasmus Steinkrauss, Esther Pascual, Susanne Grassmann, Rimke Groeneveld


Web site:

BeNeCla board and scientific committee
Ronny Boogaart (University Leiden), Alan Cienki (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Dirk Geeraerts (Universiteit Leuven), Maarten van Leeuwen (Unviersiteit Leiden), Paul Sambre (Lessius/ Antwerpen/Leuven), Elena Tribushinina (Universiteit Utrecht) Marjolijn Verspoor (RU Groningen) .

About benecla

Belgian Netherlands Cognitive Linguistics Association
This entry was posted in CogLingDays 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s